Stephen H. Rothblatt Scholarship

In 2010, the Lake Michigan States Section of the Air & Waste Management Association established a scholarship for graduate students studying in the environmental field in memory of a long-time member and supporter, Stephen H. Rothblatt who passed in December 2007.

Mr. Rothblatt was the Director, Air and Radiation Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 5, headquartered in Chicago, Illinois. His credentials included:

  • Advisor to the Governments of Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and India related to air quality management programs.

  • Advisor to the Republic of Korea, leading a team of air quality experts twice to Seoul where they developed a strategy to deal with the reduced visibility/fine particulate problem of the Seoul-Inchon metropolitan area.

  • Chairman of the Lake Michigan States Section of the Air & Waste Management Association, 1987-1988.

  • In 1989 he was detailed to U.S. EPA’s Office of Air and Radiation in Washington, DC to work with the Headquarters’ team developing what became the 1990 Amendments to the Clean Air Act.

  • Mr. Rothblatt earned his Chemical Engineering degree from the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana and the Juris Doctorate degree from DePaul University’s College of Law.

Contribute to the Rothblatt Scholarship Fund

Rothblatt Scholarship APPLICATION

Congratulations to the 2020 Stephen H. Rothblatt Scholarship recipient - Zach. N. Samaras.  Zach is a graduate student at Loyola University Chicago pursuing an MS in Sustainable Business Management.



2010 – Hua Wei

University of Illinois at Chicago
2011 – Andrea Clatterbuch

IIT - Stuart School of Business
2012 – Derek R Vardon

University of Illinois at U-C
2013 – Alison Schaefer

University of Wisconsin GB
2014 – Paul Schumacher

University of Illinois at U-C
2015 – Chad Milando

University of Michigan
2015 - Andrew Schranck

University of Notre Dame
2016 – Frank Pagone

University of Chicago
2017 – N/A
2018 – Andrew Barbeau

University of Illinois at Chicago
2018 - Shantanu Pai

University of Illinois at Chicago

2019 – Anastasia Mongtomery

Northwestern University

2020 – Zach Samaras

Loyola University Chicago